Debate Of The Week #4


It must be Friday because it’s time to drop your socks and grab your tux again for Big Mike’s Debate of the Week!

Last week I asked you which was better: Cats or Dogs?

And the results are in!

The Dogs have it!  All but one of your votes went to the doggies.  I think the take away from this is that dogs are awesome.  Not much else to say about the matter.  As for the one cat lover, we still love you at Big Mike’s World.  You just have love for the wrong pet in my opinion.  I guess it’s because I’m not into having my face scratched off in the middle of the night because a feisty feline is hopped up on cat nip and pissed off at me for getting the wrong kitty littler.  Good luck with that!  Let me know how that works out for ya…… 🙂

On to the new Debate Of The Week!

This week I will go a little harder on you.  I think it is safe to say that just about everyone that reads my blog has gone to a fast food joint at one point in their life.  Right?  I can remember the days when my grandparents would bring me to McDonald’s.  It was a big deal too.  Not everyone got to go with Grandma and Pap-Pap.  Well, at least as much as I did.  I always looked forward to that cheeseburger Happy Meal!  Once in a while I would mix it up and get the deep fried breaded chicken circles with BBQ dipping sauce.  I still don’t know what part of the chicken it comes from or even if it is chicken.  I’m not sure I want to know either.

But what never changed in my decision were the french fries!  Oh the golden crunchy goodness of fried potatoes cut into sticks.  I like them french fried potaters! (said in my best Slingblade impersonation).  Oh, the memories of the Happy Meal Daze.  The toys were so unsafe too weren’t they?  I can just imagine how much lead paint and plastic pieces I ingested from those things.  Geez! If you haven’t been following, I was a fat kid and didn’t know when and what to stop eating.  So the toys were fair game too.  They smelled like plastic french fries and occasionally had salt on them….

But what we are talking about here is my love of them there french fries.  Long ones, skinny ones, fat ones, short ones. They are all a little different from restaurant to restaurant.  I think McDonald’s rued the day I found out about Wendy’s or Burger King.  Oh boy, Wendy’s french fries.  They are so saltylicious!  I just made that up.  I did.  Just now.  Right then and there.  Remember that peeps, saltylicious!

Anyway; for me, great memories aside, I would have to say that Wendy’s and McDonald’s dropped down to the bottom in the french fry race.  And I want to say that they were much better before the fryer oil changes and sea salt versions.  They are OK but I want the old versions back.  The cut was perfect, rectangular like.  Perfect for catching the right amount of salt and great as a ketchup scraper.  Yes, that’s right, I said ketchup not catsup.  I’m from the East Coast and I’m a Heinz man.  There are no other products that compare.  But that is not the debate here, sorry.

I like Burger King’s fries but not as much as Wendy’s.  BK’s fries can be eaten without ketchup because of that flavor coating on there.  Not so great for me.  It just doesn’t meet the requirements of the perfect fry.  And have any of you been to a Steak ‘n Shake?  Great milk shakes but horrible little bits of potato they call french fries.

So what is my requirements of a perfect fry?  Must have the right amount of salt, crunch with a soft pillowy center.  It must be able to scrape a good amount of ketchup or scoop if using more than 1 and hold out long enough to make it to my pie hole.  It must also compliment the sammich I’m inhaling too.  Yes, I said sammich.  A sammich is much better than a sandwich.  Trust me, I’m right.  I wouldn’t lie to you.  If you don’t believe me, just look it up.

My Choice:

Drum roll please…….The best french fries are found at…….Chick-fil-A!  Oh, I know.  I threw you a curve ball there.  Waffle fries weren’t discussed.  But they are french fries.  And they are so good.  Look at them.  They dwarf the normal french fry.  It’s like a fry on roids!

I think you get where my vote is going…..yup, that’s right, Chick-fil-A!

How about you?

Who has the best french fries?  McDonald’s – Burger King – Wendy’s – Chick-fil-A – or self nominate a restaurant

How did you come to your conclusion?  What were the requirements for your best french fry?  Do you use any condiments with them?  (Ketchup, mayonnaise, milkshake, mustard, hot sauce, ranch dressing, etc)

Do you remember the rules for the Debate of the Week?  If not check them out Here.

Enjoy your weekend!

7 thoughts on “Debate Of The Week #4

  1. McDonald’s with the Grandparents…good memories! Especially a B-Day at McD’s!!!
    You caught me staring at the curve ball and boy do I love Chick-fil-a…How’s this for a change up: Five Guys Burgers and Fries!!! You can put me all in on their fries!

  2. You have to love a burger place that has self-serve peanuts for you to munch on while you wait for your real food. Do you leave the fries in the bag and rip off the top after you salt and shake them?

  3. OK, you can forget all of your muckydees, wendys, waffle fries etc etc. You have not LIVED unless you have TASTED the good old BRITISH CHIP & I mean the chip from the ‘chish & fip’ shop….YUMMOO SCRUMMO 🙂

    Chunky, salty & the right amount of malt vinegar to make them all soggy & delicious. If you feel a little adventurous, there is always the curry sauce or mushy peas to slather over the top 🙂

    And of this doesn’t win, I know its a fix!!!! hee hee

    BTW, I think I forgot to tell you I nominated you for the genuine blogger award. 🙂

    Showing my ardent appreciation to the genuine bloggers out there

    • Those do sound good. That’s an awesome flavor combo too, vinegar and salt. That curry sauce sounds good too, never tried curry with fries. I’ve made curry with potatoes and carrots and poured it over rice, that was good.

      As long as you don’t fry my fries with fish. Fish and peas kill!! Damn allergies……

Leave a comment