Just My Luck


Well, it looks like I will need to concede to Jamie for this week’s weigh-in.

Mother Freakin Effeeer! And a bunch of other words I won’t type out…….

So I’m out on a nice run and all of a sudden out of nowhere, the road comes at me.  Or was it more like I went towards the road?  I don’t know and can’t really remember because of the blinding pain I felt when it happened.  It felt like someone shot me in the leg.  Not that I know what it is like to be shot but I’m sure that is what it would feel like.

Oh man!  I dropped to the ground like someone cracked open a pinata at a birthday party.  At first I was laying in the road and said F it, I’m gonna die right here.  What do I do?  Do I call out for help (I really couldn’t move)? Do I stay here in the  fetal position and cry?  Do I crawl into the sewer drain? What????

Then I realized exactly where I was and pulled myself into the front yard of someone that had a huge killer attack dog looking out the window at me.  Oh great!  Yeah, I felt like a Snausage right then.  But I would have a better survival rate with a dog  than the SUV barreling down towards me.

I still don’t really know what happened.  So I looked around to see WTH I stumbled on.  There was this miniature boulder hiding in the shade of the only tree on the street.  Stupid rock!  Stupid tree casing it’s shade hiding the stupid rock!

I managed to pull up my skirt Man-Up and tried to stand up so I could walk home.  By now I was more pissed off than anything.  I was so pumped to get a good run in before work.  Oh yeah, I had to call off today.  That was a colossal effort too.  I’m a damn cashier and I have to talk to 4 different managers and 2 supervisors to tell them what happened and why I won’t be able to stand for 6 hours and smile at customers……REALLY?  Let’s see, how can I put this so the powers that be will understand….I rolled my GD ankle and I have a baseball sized bump trying to escape from my skin!  Now, may I please be excused from work 6th person I talked to?

Naw, I didn’t say all that.  I don’t remember saying please….

Well, I’m gonna lay in my bed and cry a little before I go to the hospital…….I’m not one for ERs so I made an actual appointment. But it’s not until 2:20.

Oh, and if you want to send me a get well card, I’ll shoot you my address. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Just My Luck

    • Well, I won’t know what the outcome is until Friday. The swelling was pretty bad and no one was around to read the x-rays. So…..I will be chewing on the vicodin they gave me until I find out more.

      Thanks for the well wishes!

  1. Oh no! Mr. Bill!..I mean Big Mike. Stupid rocks can be a pain, as you found out. Feeling for ya bud. Hopefully the RICE – rest, ice, compression and elevation will take care of it. Concentrate on getting well rather than Jamie kicking your butt this week. Oops! Did I type that out loud?

    Take it easy pal – better days ahead.

    doug

    • That’s funny you mentioned RICE. When we were stationed in Japan we had these obnoxious PSAs instead of real commercials here in the states (we had a military issued satellite to get a few channels in English). Anyway, there was this really stupid one where these three guys were playing basketball and one of them just flops to the ground and screams. This completely different guy comes from off screen and goes into the speech on RICE. I still have nightmares of those commercials.

      Maybe I could go to one of Jamie’s Senior Citizen Chair Aerobics classes to stay in shape. 🙂

      But seriously, I will have a hard time just sitting around. I will have to go to the gym to use their upper body cardio only machine. It is like a stationary bike but for your arms. Looks odd but I need to do something.

  2. aw- that sucks! I hope your ankle isn’t broken and it’s just a sprain! I was so looking forward to crushing you this week and you totally took the wind out of my sails!
    Seriously though- I hope you are okay!

    And what did I ever do to Doug??? 🙂

    • Thank you Jamie!

      I hope I bounce back fast. I have had my share of ankle sprains but nothing this painful. I did however get a good workout with my crutches today. I will figure something out by next week so I can come back and take you on again.

      You probably had this week in the bag anyway. I was only down 1 lb so far. Between work, honey-do list and deployment prep, this was only the second day this week I had time for cardio and weights.

      Coach loves everyone! I think he was on your side this time……

      Ooooo, there’s my alarm. Time for more Vicodin!

  3. That totally blows….I remember a few months ago I had dropped a pallet on my foot. A HEAVY PALLET. I instantly started balling, because I didn’t want to stop running. I took a week off and it was fine. However I don’t think you will have the same diagnosis! I hope you get better REAL soon! RICE!

  4. Greetings from a fellow gimped-one! Injuries suck and waiting for healing feels like an ETERNITY! But, on the upside, I get a taste of what life is like for others with limited mobility so I have a new found compassion. Hang in there!!

  5. Pingback: Down by 2 « The Life of Jamie

Leave a Reply

