Been Gettin Any……….Exercise?


Howdy my blog-o-thingy friends!  How has Wednesday treated you?

If you have been following me on my Tumblr Bloggy Thingamabob you have been kept up to date on how my last two days off have gone.  If you have not, you just made me cry a little inside.  Do you feel bad?  Good!  Now go check it out!

Wait!  Not yet….finish reading this first.  Geez, you’re in such a hurry to leave me.

OK, so here is the deal.  I will give you a pass on missing my Tumbler blogs (I’m still crying if you care).  But you have to start checking them out.

Anyway, I will fill you in with what I have been doing. 

Here is the short story:

2 days off = Exercise Exercise Exercise and more Exercise with some really super healthy eating.

Now for the in-depth version..

Tuesday

The Plan: Run 5 miles then as fast as possible transition to cycling 50 miles.

What happened: Ran 6 miles and had a slow transition to cycling 40 miles.

Wednesday

The Plan: Run 6 miles then as fast as possible transition to cycling 50 miles

What Happened: Ran 6 miles and had a super slow transition to cycling 36 miles.

Food was the same for both days.  Here is what I ate:

A big thanks to Stephanie at My Glorified Journal for my breakfast recipe of Scrambled egg whites, Steamed green beans, and sweet potato with some red pepper.  Shhhh, don’t tell anyone about it….it’s her secret figure competition recipe!  But holy crap it was good!

Lunch was a whole wheat bow tie pasta with asparagus, carrots, spinach, tomatoes, garlic and a lot of hot sauce.  And of course my protein shake….. (there’s a picture on Tumblr)

Remember? Like this but different!

Dinner was my famous stuffed peppers with shredded chicken and salsa.  If you like super hot food use the Hunky Hot peppers, if not, then use your favorite color bell pepper. (there’s a picture on Tumblr……somewhere)

 

I finished off with some desert.  I had some fresh pineapple, a peach and a few hand fulls of shelled peanuts.  I’ll share a trick with ya.  If you get the peanuts in shells it takes you longer to eat them and allows your body to realize its consuming something, plus they’re cheaper to buy. Therefore, allowing you to eat less!  All finished off with another protein shake….

So I didn’t go all low carb on this episode of super healthy days but I did burn a few gazillion calories….and I stayed away from foods like…

Who needs drama like this anyway?

So Mike, why didn’t you meet your planned goals?  Good question!  Well, ya see, ummm…remember my post My Poor Body?    Yeah?  Well, my neck started to do it’s “I’m gonna F#<% with your life” thing again.  I’m learning to deal with most of the pain but it sure does SUCK!  The position my bike puts my body in is not very neck pain friendly.  So I did what I could without being a total….

Well, back to work tomorrow……

Thanks for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “Been Gettin Any……….Exercise?

    • So here is the original recipe:

      8 red, yellow, or orange bell peppers or a mixture of all (about 4 lbs)

      2 tbsp canola or olive oil, divided

      1 medium-sized yellow onion, chopped

      4 garlic cloves, peeled and minced

      1 tsp salt

      1 tsp ground black pepper

      1 tbsp chili powder

      1 tbsp ground cumin

      16 oz fresh Italian turkey sausage, removed from casing or lean ground turkey (You can use pre-cooked turkey or slices of deli turkey cut into small pieces and use it in place of the turkey sausage, if desired.)

      1 (16 oz) jar chunky salsa, mild or hot

      2 cups fresh baby spinach, rinsed and chopped or 1 (10 oz) package chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed to remove moisture

      1 cup cooked quinoa (optional)

      1 cup cooked brown rice

      1 cup low-fat cheddar cheese

      2 large avocados, peeled and pit removed, sliced

      1/2 cup low-fat Greek yogurt

      1/4 cup finely chopped fresh basil leaves

      Directions

      Preheat oven to 375°F. Cut the peppers in half lengthwise, slicing from the stem to the bottoms, leaving the stems intact. Remove the white pithy ribs near stem and down length of inside. Remove the ribs and seeds and discard. Place the peppers in a shallow 13 x 9 inch baking dish. Drizzle the peppers with 1 tablespoon of the oil. Cover the dish with foil, and bake the peppers 15 to 20 minutes, until they start to soften.

      Meanwhile, heat the remaining 1 tablespoon of the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the onion, garlic, salt, black pepper, chili powder, and cumin; cook until the vegetables are softened, about 3 minutes. Add the sausage to the skillet. Cook, breaking it up with a slotted spoon or potato masher, until lightly browned, about 5 minutes. Add the salsa and the spinach, and cook, stirring occasionally, about 5 minutes. Remove the skillet from the heat and stir in the cooked brown rice and quinoa (optional).

      Carefully fill the pepper halves with the turkey mixture. Cover the dish with foil, and bake until the filling is hot and the peppers are tender, 20 to 25 minutes. Remove foil, and sprinkle the cheese over the top of the peppers. Return to oven; bake, uncovered, until cheese has melted, about 7 to 10 minutes. Top the peppers with a heaping tablespoon of the yogurt. Place slices of the avocado on top of each pepper. Sprinkle with the basil.

      Here is what I made this week:

      5 Hunky Hot peppers cored, seeded and sliced in half (or 2 bell peppers)
      1 baked chicken breast cut or shredded and seasoned with black pepper
      Homemade salsa or the jarred stuff – enough to cover chicken in pepper
      A sprinkle of cheese – your choice (optional but helps control the heat of the pepper)

      Bake the stuffed peppers -minus cheese in a 350 degree oven for 10-15 min or until tips of peppers get brown. Remove peppers from oven and sprinkle cheese……

      I like my second recipe better because it is a lot less calories, no added oil or salt and the heat from the peppers helps control how much you eat. I only eat 3 halves per meal.

      • so the second half with the chicken is your modification? Do you add the rice/quinoa or take it out? Either way it looks really good! Thats going to be my dinner sunday night!

      • Hey Jamie! The second half is just a simplified version of the original recipe. That is what I have been eating recently….just the pepper/shredded chicken and salsa in the oven (a lower carb meal). The original version is for someone that wants the extra carbs and energy. The original version is really good! But not what I need for my training right now. So I changed it.

  1. How is your body holding up to the rigorous exercise? It sounds like a healthy lifestyle, but it doesn’t sound like your neck pain is agreeing with all the exercise. Is there a better way to find a balance and keep you pain free? I know that sounds crazy but I’m trying to help problem solve and see that you are comfortable doing what you you enjoy.

    • Funny you should say, find a better way. My doctors only want me to swim. But as you may know……I can’t swim! So, instead of sitting on the couch feeling sorry for myself, or facing a fear, I figure I might as well do the things I love and just deal with the pain. Yeah, the pain gets me to a tear stage sometimes but if I don’t do it, how can I do the duathlon I plan on doing soon? 🙂

      Pain only lasts a while but the memory of accomplishing something knowing I overcame an obstacle, lasts forever! That and I get another medal when I finish the race… 😉

  2. are you interested in a little bloggy challenge? Winner gets blog control for a week? See who can lose a larger % of weight by July 30? If you are interested, email me at the email that shows up in my comments!

Leave a Reply

