Super Healthy Weekend Update #2


So here it is, Sunday, and I’m almost done with my little super healthy weekend experiment.

On Saturday I did a 4 mile  run in super hot conditions which sucked. It was supposed to be cooler but we all know how dependable weather reports are. SMH!  But it was a really good run.  I took on some big hills (and who likes hills?) and was stalked by a loose dog.  I have a video of it but for the life of me I can’t get it to upload to Tumblr. But I do have other videos on there. Check them out here!

I made breakfast which consisted of my western omelet (liquid egg whites and pico de gallo).  I skipped the turkey bacon this time and just gave it to the puppies.  I have to use it up somehow.  After breakfast I cleaned up my bike from the day before and got the majority of Scott AFB bugs and junk off it, lube the chain and rinse off my helmet.

I had completely forgot that the base gym closes early on the weekends so my Johnny Jackson leg workout was going to have to wait till another day.  But no fear, I did do legs.  I first went out to fertilize “the football field” then came inside and continued my leg warm up with some plyometrics then did the leg routine from P90X.  I gave Tony Horton a run for his money.  Just like Hugh Jackman, Tony Horton has nothing on me!  Well, maybe they have a professional chef that cooks for them…..

Dinner consisted of my usual chicken and broccoli and my protein shake.  I finished off the day by watching a really stupid movie, Apollo 18.  Oh, yeah,  I did eat lunch….that was a hand full of turkey and string cheese.  Nothing special.

Again, I need to give a big thanks to Stephanie.  Following her journey has motivated me.

One thing that I’m learning by following Stephanie and her trainer Terry Stokes is that intensity is key to a great workout.  It’s all about pushing yourself to the next level.  Don’t just do it mentally, do it with the weights too!  And I am certainly doing that this weekend.  I’m not just going for a run or just a bike ride.  I’m focusing on technique, power output and speed.  I don’t just want to go through the motions, I want to GET IT with these exercises.  I haven’t felt this good in a long time.  There is something about being tired after a solid workout whether it be a run, bike ride or lifting session, it makes you crave more.  I can’t remember the last time I did 3 separate workouts in a day and wanted to do it all over again the next day.  Maybe I’m sick in the head but I like the feeling of success.

Anyway, I just mentioned two pretty cool peeps that you should be checking out now.

Now go out and find your feeling of success!

Until tomorrow……….

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Super Healthy Weekend Update #2

  1. Haha must I say how proud I am of your weekend?! Awesome job Mike. Way to get after it… I feel like I’ve vicariously worked out through you since I haven’t slapped on my gym shoes since Thursday 😮
    Keep it up and again… thank you for your constant support!

    • Thank you Steph! But I think you had the more productive weekend. I’m sure the workout break your on is greatly needed.

      I tried following your posts throughout the day to see how it was going. I can’t wait to read about the day. Congrats on the trophies…..I told you my money was on you the whole time! No doubts here!

      Now you have to focus on the UA What’s Beautiful Competition. Let me know if you need anything for that.

      Here’s to continued support and motivation to the both of us!

  2. Keep it up, Big Mike!

    Mine was a weekend spent writing press releases and organizing my desk! The mental intensity is there, but zero physical work out, I’m afraid…

Leave a Reply

