Exercise….It’s The Poor Person’s Plastic Surgery


So today I took a deep look at myself and decided it was time to dig deep and push till I could do no more.  What a stupid idea!  Well, not really.

I have been following a few other bloggers that are also battling through P90X, running, pilates and other great exercise type things.  Today I figured why not me?  Why can’t I start doing more in my workouts?  Today marked the beginning of week 9 in my P90X schedule.  It should have been week 11 but I had a few set backs.  In actuality this should be my second time finishing P90X but I had leg surgery a few months ago that set me back so much that I just started all over.  And now by the looks of things I won’t be able to correctly finish this round either.  I am scheduled to have another leg surgery the beginning of March, which would be week 11 of this go around of P90X.  I probably could finish it but I would have to skip the leg workouts, which are my favorite.

Anyway, back to today.  I needed to get moving before my brain realized what I was about to do.  I like to run but I haven’t in quite some time.  I’m just lazy and it’s been cold.  But today was about 50ish out.  Plus my wife went for a run early in the morning making me feel like a big bag of pooh.  So being guilted into running without actually being guilted, I went for a brisk 2 mile run around our housing development.  It felt pretty good to run again.  The only bad thing was that the air was still a bit harsh so I will be hacking like a cat on a fur ball the rest of the day.  That didn’t make for a pleasant stomach for my round of Chest & Back with Tony Horton.  He didn’t seem to care either, he just kept on going like he was on a DVD or something.

The results of my workout were kinda surprising.  I figured I would be spent after the run since I haven’t done it in a while(plus I did Core Synergistics yesterday) but I actually had a good day in push-ups and pull-ups.  It’s not the best a human can do but for me it wasn’t a bad day.  I ended up doing 156 total push-ups and 76 pull-ups.  It’s not exactly the ratio I want to be at nor the amount.  I would like to be more at a 3-1 or 4-1 push to pull ratio.  But I’ll take it!  Especially after almost seeing my Chocolate-Cherry Carb Boom again a few times during the P90X segment.

I would like to leave you with a few words to keep you going:

Pain is weakness leaving your body!

If you will excuse me, I am going to lay down and pass out now…..

One thought on “Exercise….It’s The Poor Person’s Plastic Surgery

Leave a Reply

